I eat, therefore I am!

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Cheating again – sorry! Thoughts of sourdough and mushrooms.

on April 27, 2014

Only a few days to go to the end of NaPoWriMo and I, together with Shirley, will try and redress the ridulously poetic bias of this site. It’s definitely my comfort zone, but I am capable of writing prose!

I am going to cheat (yet again) and post one of my musings from day 7  about my beloved sourdough starter, Chuck, but I have also been thinking today about tastes that bring back memories.

One of mine is field mushrooms. When I was a small child we would go out early in the morning, in local fields, and look for the ‘fairy rings’. I could never (and actually still can’t) get my head round the fact that we would pick a crop of mushrooms one day and yet the next day there would be more massive white, saucer-like caps in their place.

How did they grow so quickly? There definitely seemed to be something magical happening.

We would bear them back home proudly in a cotton handkerchief, wipe them off with a cloth and pop them into a sizzling pan with some butter. The tarry black juices would flow, and the house would be filled with the heady scent, which would soon be joined by the spit and sizzle of proper, hand-cut bacon. Never did mornings taste so fresh.

The only thing that could have improved it would have been the scent of freshly made bread!

With that, I lead unashamedly into my ode to Chuck. He has been rather quiet of late, so I have taken the step of throwing away half and starting him off again – fingers crossed! ‘Chuck’ is my sourdough starter and has literally lived in a Kilner jar in my kitchen since Christmas.

Sour dough,
I love you so.
You know how much
I knead you,
but do I really need
to feed you
every day?
Live and bubbling,
you are troubling
my dreams.
Just when it seems
that you are rising,
I come home
and it’s surprising
that you’ve dropped –
fermentation’s stopped
and so the cycle
has to start again.
But
when the chemistry
is right,
we share a blissful night
before the dawn
and the oven’s yawn
swallows you whole.

 


2 responses to “Cheating again – sorry! Thoughts of sourdough and mushrooms.

  1. foodpositive says:

    Ha! I like that….I kill sour dough….I may respond with an ode to dead dough!

    • caroleoly says:

      Dead and dying dough – is that anything like Ken Dodd’s dog’s dead??
      Please do! I thought I might have mortally ignored poor Chuck, though time will tell…
      Still felt very resilient and bubbly so I hope for the best.

Leave a comment