I eat, therefore I am!

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bread – a poem

on April 24, 2014

Okay, so in the spirit of sharing, here is one I made earlier. I have just taken up making bread this year. I actually went to a course at Food Positive recently and made a couple of delicious loaves and increased my confidence enormously!

Needless to say, I wrote this a while ago and this is just artistic licence – my husband need  have no concerns at all…

 

Bread
They don’t make love
so she makes bread –
spends long nights sifting,
gently placing peaks in her silent landscape.

She dozes lightly, till it’s time
to rise from the cool sheets
and share the dough’s warmth.

Kneading the swelling mass
she soothes and shapes,
folds and forms:

Buxom cottage loaves;
petit pain – the tops slit, just so;
rustic ciabatta, starred with olives,
and fleshy baguettes.

She brushes his arm with soft hands,
returns his smile,
as she watches him break bread.

 


Leave a comment